3 station names revisited for Richmond Highway Bus Rapid Transit

HYBLA VALLEY, VA — As planning for the proposed bus rapid transit system on the Richmond Expressway continues, Fairfax County will reconsider the names of three stations.

The county government will re-examine three of nine planned bus rapid transit station names based on community ideas to reflect location and community character. The station names being reviewed are Penn Daw (N. Kings Highway and S. Kings Highway), Hybla Valley (Boswell Avenue and Fordson Road), and Gum Springs (Sherwood Hall Lane).

An open house is scheduled to discuss names and gather feedback on October 12 from 6:30 p.m. to 8 p.m. at the Hybla Valley Community Center, 7950 Audubon Avenue, Alexandria, VA. Residents can attend at any time, as there will be no presentation. A survey should also be available from October 12 to November 4.

Fairfax County plans bus rapid transit along the Richmond Freeway, which was recommended in a 2015 study by the Virginia Department of Railroads and Transit. The study identified the Bus Rapid Transit as a short-term option and the extension of the yellow metro line as a long-term option. Bus Rapid Transit was part of the county’s Embark Richmond Highway initiative, which includes the widening of the VDOT’s Richmond Highway, Bus Rapid Transit and land use changes to encourage mixed-use development near bus stations.

The Bus Rapid Transit schedule is not finalized, but the latest schedule calls for one segment to be completed from 2026 to 2030 and the second from 2028 to 2030. Earlier this year, the county announced that Bus Rapid Transit would bear the mark “The Une.” The Richmond Freeway Widening Project is in the design phase and construction will begin as early as 2025, depending on funding.

Comments are closed.